Vehicle registration renewal
Options for renewing registration
Renew your registration online
We want you to renew your registration online.
The online system automatically checks your vehicle inspection and insurance, and emails you a paid receipt that allows you to drive for up to 31 days, giving the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles plenty of time to mail your sticker.
Be aware it may take two business days before the Texas Department of Public Safety’s inspection report is loaded into the online system. You can use the online renewal system providing you have not received a citation for expired registration and are not more than 12 months past your sticker’s expiration date.
You can set up a personal account using the state service Texas by Texas (TxT), where you can link your vehicle registration and driver's license information. The account is secured by the Texas Department of Public Safety and requires you to create a username and password. This puts your vehicle information in one place and will remind you when it is time to renew your registration and driver's license. To create an account, go to Texas by Texas (TxT). If you want to set up an email reminder for your vehicle registration expiration date, go to www.TxDMV.gov and search for "eReminder."
Other ways to renew
You may renew by:
- Mail (include a copy of your Vehicle Inspection Report and insurance card in the envelope).
- Going to a participating Travis County H-E-B, Fiesta Mart or AAA locations where they will print your sticker on the spot. You can renew at these locations providing your sticker isn't expired by more than 12 months. Be sure to bring the complete Texas Department of Motor Vehicles renewal notice, Vehicle Inspection Report, insurance card and your checkbook. (If you cannot find your inspection report, print a duplicate from www.mytxcar.org.)
- Visiting one of our tax office locations. We provide registration renewal services through the drive-thru lanes. To use the drive-thru, you must bring:
- A paper copy of your insurance card. (We cannot accept an insurance card displayed on your mobile phone in the drive-thru).
- Your passing vehicle inspection report signed by the inspector.
- Using a Tax Office-authorized title service company: Fry’s Auto Title, 3005 S. Lamar Blvd., Auto Title Service of Oak Hill, 5611 West Highway 290 or Centex Auto Title, 9707 FM812 #4. State law allows these private companies to add a service fee of up to $10 for registration renewal.
Pay the state registration, inspection and emissions fees
State law requires us to collect these fees when you renew your registration
A sticky situation
So now, you have your new sticker, but how do you get the old one off? Begin by peeling one of the top corners. You are going to take the sticker off at an angle. Once you begin to peel back the corner, apply steady pressure as you continue to peel it off. If the sticker does not come off in one piece or if it left a sticky residue, apply WD-40 to help with removal. Be sure to clean the area with alcohol before applying the new sticker.