Travis County Tax Office

Vehicle registration, temporary permits

General requirements for permits

  • You may be required to have your vehicle inspected before applying for a permit. Please review the information for the type of permit you need to determine if an inspection is required. 
  • You will need proof of insurance that meets Texas minimum requirements ($30,000 per person bodily injury, $60,000 per accident bodily injury and $25,000 property damage liability). Texas does not accept no-fault insurance. Your insurance must cover the entire length of the permit. 
  • You will need an identification and it must match the name on your proof of insurance.
  • You must pay in cash to receive a permit from the tax office. No credit cards accepted.

Permit Disqualifications

  • Vehicles impounded by law enforcement for expired registration and/or junk, salvage or non-repairable title status.

Timed permits

One-trip permits

  • Issued for the temporary movement of an empty vehicle or trailer
  • You may only use it to travel in Texas, but you do not need to be a Texan to purchase the permit
  • The permit is good only from where you start (point of origin) to where you end (point of destination) in Texas
  • You do not need an inspection for a one-trip permit
  • You can apply for a maximum of three, one-trip permits per vehicle

Vehicles eligible for one-trip permits:

  • Bus
  • Charter bus from another state 
  • Private bus carrying passengers and property 
  • Commercial vehicle 
  • Passenger vehicle
  • Truck or truck-tractor
  • Park model trailer
  • Motorcycle

Required documents and fees

  • Proof of insurance that is valid until the expiration of the permit (not required for trailers or semi-trailers)
  • One-trip permit fee: $9.75 cash only.

30-day permits

  • Issued for the temporary movement of a vehicle carrying cargo or passengers.
  • The permit begins on the date of purchase and expires in 30 calendar days. 
  • A maximum of three, 30-day permits allowed per vehicle.
  • 30-day and one-trip permits not available online.

Vehicles eligible for 30-day permits:

  • Passenger vehicles (cars and trucks)
  • Motorcycles
  • Private bus
  • Trailer
  • Semitrailer 
  • Light commercial vehicles
  • Commercial vehicle exceeding 10,000 pounds of gross vehicle weight (GVW) 

Required documents and fees:

  • Completed Application for Timed Temporary Permits (VTR-66)
  • Proof of insurance that is valid until the expiration of the permit
  • Proof of current passing vehicle inspection (unless the vehicle displays current out-of-state license plates or the vehicle is mobile drilling or servicing equipment used in the production of gas or oil)
  • Current government-issued photo identification matching the policyholder or listed driver
  • 30-day permit fee: $29.75 cash only 

Additional requirements for licensed title services other than a dealer:

If you are a licensed title service other than a dealer, Power of Attorney is required.

72- and 144-hour permits

  • 72- or 144-hour permits available for commercial vehicles and buses owned by residents of the United States, Mexico or Canada.
  • Vehicles using 72- or 144-hour permits may only operate at the maximum weight of 80,000 pounds.

Vehicles eligible for 72- and 144-hour permits:

  • Trailer and semi-trailer
  • Truck-tractor
  • Trailer and semi-trailer
  • Motor bus
  • Laden truck

Required documents and fees:

  • Proof of insurance that is valid until the expiration of the permit.
  • Proof of current passing vehicle inspection (unless the vehicle displays current out-of-state license plates or the vehicle is mobile drilling or servicing equipment used in the production of gas or oil)
  • 72-hour permit fee: $29.75 or 144-hour permit fee: $54.75

72- and 144-hour permits available online from Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). Other options for purchasing these permits include your local TxDMV Regional Office; title service companies Fry’s Auto Title or Auto Title Services of Oak Hill (these private companies charge an additional fee for their service); or at one of our four tax office locations where we require payment in cash.

 
500 400 300 200 100 1 2 3 4 5 6 7