New to Texas
New Texans have 30 days from the time they move here to register their vehicle. You must register your vehicle before you can apply for a Texas Driver’s License.
You must arrive at the tax office by 4 p.m. weekdays to apply for a vehicle title or first-time Texas registration.
Your Texas insurance must meet or exceed the state’s minimums:
- $30,000 per person for bodily injury
- $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 in property damage liability
If you have out-of-state insurance that meets these requirements, bring the declarations page of your policy.
Texas does not accept no-fault insurance. As a result, we cannot accept insurance from the following states, territory and district:
- New Jersey
- New York
- North Dakota
- Puerto Rico
- Washington, D.C.
Take your vehicle and proof of insurance to a certified Texas Department of Public Safety inspection station in Travis County. Most dealerships, mechanics and full-service gas stations offer state inspections. You will need the inspection station to provide you with a signed Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). The report is required to register and title your vehicle in Texas.
Note: Texas requires an annual inspection that is within 90 days of your sticker’s expiration date. Next year, after you pass inspection, you can renew your registration online at Texas.gov.
Provide your inspection documents and proof of insurance along with the following:
Proof of Ownership
- Original title or the vehicle's most recent registration receipt from your previous state
- Information on the title’s lienholder, if applicable. If you have a lien on the vehicle, we need to know the lienholder’s full name, address, city, state, zip code and the first lien date.
Valid Photo ID
State law requires you bring one of the following types of photo identification:
- Driver’s license or state identification certification from a U.S. state or territory
- U.S. or foreign passport
- U.S. military identification
- North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) identification or identification issued under a U.S. Status of Forces Agreement
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security identification
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation
- U.S. Department of State identification
If you are registering a vehicle with a power of attorney or in the name of a business, organization or trust, visit Title Transfers for additional information about identification requirements.
- A completed Application for Texas Title (130-U) creates your Texas vehicle record. You also need this form for first time, Texas vehicle registration to receive your sticker and license plates.
Must be done in the tax office or title services.