Buy From A Dealer

If you purchase a vehicle from a dealer, the dealer is required to process the title transaction. Contact your dealer if you have questions about your purchase.

Buy From An Individual

Before you Buy

Do A Title Check!

Seller:
  • Assign the title to the buyer on the back by completing the Assignment of Title section
  • Insert the date of sale
Buyer:
  • Sign the back of the title
  • Sign the sales tax affidavit form Application for Texas Title (130-U)
  • Transfer the title within 30 calendar days to avoid late fees

Documents

Title

Properly assigned original or certified copy provided by the TxDMV or titling authority from another state.

Identification
  • Identification must be provided for the primary buyer
  • A copy of the identification can be used
  • All identifications must meet Texas requirements
Liability Insurance
  • Proof of liability insurance is required
  • Must meet Texas requirements at the time of title transfer
  • Insurance can be used in the name of the seller as long as the seller is present
  • Insurance on another vehicle owned by the buyer can be used for the first 30 calendar days from the date of sale
Application for Texas Title (130-U)
  • Serves as the legal bill of sale
  • Original signature of buyer is required
  • Original signature of seller is optional
  • Legal name on the buyer's photo ID must match the name on the Application for Texas Title (130-U)

Fees

We accept cash, check, money order, or credit card payments.

  1. $33.00 Title Application Fee
  2. 6.25% Sales Tax or Standard Presumptive Value (SPV)

    If the vehicle is being transferred into your name, sales tax is due. In Texas, sales tax is based on the purchase price of the vehicle or the Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) whichever is higher. SPV is the calculated value of a vehicle based on the sale of similar vehicles in Texas. Search for your vehicle's Standard Presumptive Value (SPV).

  3. Applicable Registration Fees

    $78.25 registration fee for passenger vehicles and light trucks weighing up to 6,000 pounds. Visit Vehicle Registration for information on fees for other vehicles.

  4. Additional Fees:

    • No additional fees if paying by cash, check, or money order
    • $3 credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions $100 or less
    • 3% credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions more than $100

Late Penalties (if applicable)

Sales Tax Penalty
  • From the date of sale you will count 30 days (day 1 is the day after the sale date)
  • 5% penalty on the sales tax amount between the 31st & 60th day late
  • 10% penalty on the sales tax amount any day after the 61st date late
Delinquent Transfer Penalty
  • From the date of sale you will count 30 days (day 1 is the day after the sale date)
  • The $25 penalty applies every 30 days or any part of a 30 day period

Completing Your Title Transfer

In-Person:

Title transfers should be completed by buyer and seller together in-person at any of the five Travis County Tax Office locations.

Mail:

Make your check or money order payable to the Travis County Tax Office

        Travis County Tax Office<

        Motor Vehicle Division

        PO Box 149326

      Austin, TX 78714-9326

Sell To A Dealer

A dealer is not required to title in the dealership's name if you sell or trade-in your vehicle to a dealer. The vehicle stays in your name until the vehicle is sold to another individual.

Complete a Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification within 30 days from the date of sale to protect yourself from parking tickets and toll violations that was committed by the individual who purchased the vehicle.

Sell To An Individual

A gift is any transfer of a motor vehicle in which an eligible party does not receive a payment in exchange. If the vehicle is being transferred as a gift due to death or divorce, contact us for more information. 

Qualifications

To qualify the vehicle must be received from the following eligible parties:

  • Spouse (separate property)
  • Parent/Stepparent or Fater/Mother-in-law
  • Child/Stepchild or Son/Daughter-in-law
  • Sibling or Brother/Sister-in-law
  • Grandparent/Grandparent-in-law
  • Grandchild/Grandchild-in-law
  • Guardian (Must show proof of guardianship)
  • Decedent's Estate
  • Certain Revocable Living Trusts
  • Donated to or given by a 501(c)(3) non-profit service organization

Documents

Title

Properly assigned original or certified copy provided by the TxDMV or titling authority from another state.

Identification
  • Identification must be provided for the primary recipient
  • A copy of the identification can be used
  • All identifications must meet Texas requirements
Liability Insurance
  • Proof of liability insurance
  • Must meet Texas requirements at the time of title transfer
  • Insurance can be used in the name of the seller as long as the seller is present
  • Insurance on another vehicle owned by the buyer can be used for the first 30 calendar days from the date of sale
Application for Texas Title (130-U)
  • Original signature of donor as the seller and recipient as the buyer are required
  • Legal name on the buyer's photo ID must match the name on the Application for Texas Title (130-U)
Affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer

Fees

We accept cash, check, money order, or credit card payments.

  1. $33 Title Application Fee
  2. $10 Gift Tax
  3. Applicable Registration Fees

    $78.25 registration fee for passenger vehicles and light trucks weighing up to 6,000 pounds. Visit Vehicle Registration for information on fees for other vehicles.

  4. Additional Fees:

    • No additional fees if paying by cash, check, or money order
    • $3 credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions $100 or less
    • 3% credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions more than $100

If the title is in your name, or you are the recorded lien holder for the vehicle, you can apply for a certified copy through the TxDMV.

Forms of Identification

The following types of identification will be accepted:

  • U.S. or U.S. Territory driver's license or ID
  • U.S. or Foreign Passport
  • U.S. Military ID
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization ID
  • ID issued under a Status of Forces Agreement
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security ID document
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services ID document
  • U.S. Department of State ID document

Additional identification requirements apply in some circumstances, including:

Vehicles Titled in More Than One Name

Bring identification for the primary applicant.

Vehicles in the Name of a Leasing Company

Bring all of the following:

  • Identification for lessor's employee that signed the Application for Texas Title (130-U) or the lessee's identification if they are signing with a power of attorney
  • Business card, authorization written on letterhead, or employee ID matching the identification of the lessor's employee
  • Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN) - Documentation associating the Federal Employer ID Number to the business must be presented

*It is optional to provide the Federal Employer ID Number in lieu of the personal ID number of the person who signed for the business.

Vehicles in the Name of a Trust

Bring identification for the trustee.

Vehicles in the Name of Businesses or Organizations

Bring all of the following:

  • Identification of the employee
  • Business card, authorization written on letterhead, or employee ID matching the identification of the employee
  • Federal Employer ID Number (FEIN) - Documentation associating the Federal Employer ID Number to the business must be presented

*It is optional to provide the Federal Employer ID Number in lieu of the personal ID number of the person who signed for the business.

Power of Attorney

Bring all of the following:

  • Identification for the person or employee of the entity named as power of attorney
  • A business card or authorization written on the letterhead of an entity named as power of attorney that matches the identification of the employee if the transfer is on behalf of a company
  • Identification of the owner or lienholder if the transfer is on behalf of an individual

How do I know the sales tax amount if the vehicle is a gift from a non-family member?

The sales tax will be the 6.25% based off the Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) which is the calculated price of a vehicle's worth based on similar sales in Texas.

I sold my vehicle. What can I do now to make sure the vehicle record shows it was sold?

  • If you are selling a vehicle to a private individual, the best way to make sure that the buyer transfers the title out of your name is for both the buyer and seller to come in together in-person to any tax office location to complete the title transfer.
  • If you are selling the vehicle to a dealer, or if the seller is unable to come in-person, complete the Texas Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification and send it directly to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) to note on the official record that the vehicle is no longer in your possession. For best results, file this form within 30 days of the date of sale.

Can I keep my license plates when I sell my vehicle?

You can keep your license plates and transfer them to another vehicle that is in your name. Be sure to remove and destroy the registration sticker on the vehicle you are selling when you take off the plates. If you take your registration sticker and license plates off a vehicle that you've sold and are not coming in to an office with your buyer to transfer the title into their name, you will need to produce a Vehicle Transit Permit to give to your buyer.

I traded my car in to a dealer and the dealership took off the plates and sticker. Why?

Dealers are required to remove the plates and registration stickers from any vehicles they buy or take in trade. They usually offer to give you the plates. If you don't want to use the plates again, you may deface them with indelible black ink or some other method that would prevent someone else from using them. Some dealers will also dispose of the plates for you or you can drop them off at any of our five locations to be defaced and recycled.

I keep receiving Texas Toll tag tickets for a vehicle that I sold. What can I do?

Complete the Texas Motor Vehicle Transfer Notification and send it directly to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) to note on the official record that the vehicle is no longer in your possession.

Are any other documentation or fees required?

Some situations may require specific documentation and fees may vary depending on the particular situation. If you have any questions about specific transactions, please visit us at any of our office locations.

Locations