General-issue license plates
Texas requires you display a front and back license plate on your car or truck. There are no exceptions to this law and those who display only a back license plate risk being cited by law enforcement.
The state’s general-issue license plate is called "The Texas Classic" and is designed to provide Texans the highest public safety protection.
Introduced in 2012, it is the first license plate in the country to feature two, high-visibility security threads embedded into the plate sheeting, making it easier for law enforcement to spot legitimate plates
Lost, stolen, damaged license plates
Whenever you need to replace your license plates due to damage, loss of reflectivity or theft, you pay a $6.50 replacement fee to record your new plate number in the state’s motor vehicle database and issue you a new registration sticker, which shows your license plate number and county of residence along with your registration expiration date.
- Fill out the Application for Replacement License Plates (VTR-60)
- Mail or bring the application to any of our four tax office locations with a check made out to Bruce Elfant for $6.50 and your government-issued, photo identification. Note: Only send a copy of your identification if you are mailing in your application.