Foreclosure is the final remedy to collect delinquent property taxes. Tax Sale and Resale properties may have other liens. It is the responsibility of the bidder to research each property carefully. There are no warranties, expressed or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose. You buy the property "as is." Ad valorem taxes, penalties, interests, costs, and expenses that have accrued subsequent to the judgment may be currently due and become the responsibility of the purchaser. If you have any questions, consult your legal counsel prior to bidding.
Date: First Tuesday of the month
Time: 10 a.m.
Location: West steps of the Travis County Courthouse, 1000 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701
- Money order
- Cashiers check
- Credit card (subject to 3% convenience fee)
- Struck Off - Property did not sell on the original sale date and may be available for resale.
- Pulled - Property was retrieved by original owner before the sale date.
Obtain a Bidder's Statement
Owners of property with delinquent taxes due are not permitted to bid at a tax sale. Bidders must submit a Request for Statement to be Eligible to Purchase Real Property at a Tax Sale (Español). To apply:
- List all properties currently or previously owned and the names, as listed on the deed, for each property.
- Mail or deliver the application along with $10 to the Travis County Tax Office, 5501 Airport Blvd, Austin, TX 78751 at least 5 business days prior to the sale.
- Provide a valid government ID upon receipt.
Qualified bidders will receive twelve copies, good for one year from the date of issuance. This document is issued pursuant to the requirements of Texas Property Tax Code (34.015) and Texas Civil Practices and Remedies Code (34.0445) and is not a tax certificate issued per Texas Property Tax (31.08)
Deadlines to Request a Bidder's Statement:
|April 4, 2017
||March 28, 2017
|May 2, 2017
||April 25, 2017
|June 6, 2017
||May 30, 2017
|July 4, 2017
||Holiday No Sale
|August 1, 2017
||July 25, 2017
|September 5, 2017
||August 29, 2017
|October 3, 2017
||September 26, 2017
|November 7, 2017
||October 31, 2017
|December 5, 2017
||November 28, 2017
Prior to the Sale
- Click on the Current Sale tab to view the list of properties scheduled for the next tax sale. Property lists are available in the Austin Chronicle 21 days prior to the sale and online 15 days prior to the sale.
- Use the Bidder's Basic Guide to research properties you are interested in purchasing.
- Submit the Request for Statement to be Eligible to Purchase Real Property at a Tax Sale (Español) and $10 fee. Requests must be delivered in person or by mail and received in the main tax office at 5501 Airport Blvd at least 5 business days before the date of the sale. A bidder's statement will be issued and is valid for one year.
Day of the Sale
- Arrive before 10 a.m. on the date of the sale to check in and obtain an auction number.
- Bring a photo identification and a bidder's statement valid for the date of the sale.
- Bidding will begin with the minimum bid, consisting of the amount of taxes and fees due for each property, at the time of posting.
- Payment is due in full at the time of sale.
After the Sale
- Receipts are mailed to the purchaser a few weeks after the sale.
- A Constable's Deed is mailed in four weeks. This is not a warranty deed and only serves to convey to the purchaser the ownership held by the tax lawsuit defendants. The deed also conveys the property to the purchaser free of tax liens for the years included in the tax suit from which judgement was taken. Subsequent taxes may be due.
All properties sold at a tax sale are subject to the previous owner's right of redemption. To learn more about owner's rights review 34.21 of the Texas Property Tax Code. If you have any questions, consult your legal counsel.
Properties Without a Homestead Exemption or Special Land-Use Designation
- Redemption period: within six months of the date the deed was filed
- Redemption cost: total for all taxes, costs and fees paid plus an additional 25% to the buyer
Properties With a Homestead Exemption or Special Land-Use Designation
- Redemption period: within two-years of the date the deed was filed
- Redemption cost: total for all taxes, costs and fees paid plus additional 25% to the buyer in the first year and an additional 50% in the second year.
Properties that do not sell at a tax sale become part of the resale inventory offered by the Travis County Tax Office and are for sale at any time.
Acceptable bids are those most approximating the minimum bid listed for the property (or higher). The minimum bid is the lesser of two amounts:
- The total judgment amount against the property (taxes, penalties, interests, and costs) OR
- The adjudged value of the property (usually the TCAD fair market value).
All acceptable payments are received, secured in a vault then cashed and deposited the day the bid is approved by the County Commissioners Court. A receipt is then mailed to the bidder within 7-10 business days. Approval, if at all, is at the sole discretion of the County Commissioners Court. If a bid is later disapproved by the Court, it will be returned to the bidder by mail. When submitting bids on more than one property, each bid must be in a separate envelope and meet all of the requirements listed below. To purchase a property available for Resale:
Prepare Each Bid
- Click on the Resale List tab to research properties available for sale or download the resale file.
- Download and complete the Resale Bid Submission Form (Español).
- Clearly indicate the grantee name which will appear on the tax resale deed. This grantee name cannot be changed.
- Place the form in a sealed envelope with the words "TAX RESALE BID" written in the lower left-hand corner.
- Include a cashier’s check or money order, paid to the order of the "Travis County Tax Collector", equal to the amount of the bid. Payments offered in cash, with a credit card or by personal check are not accepted.
- Include a copy of the bidder's valid photo identification.
Deliver Each Bid
Bids must be submitted by mail or in-person only.
Mail Bids To:
Travis County Purchasing Office
ATTN: Cyd Grimes, CPM
P.O. Box 1748
Austin, TX 78767
Hand-Deliver Bids To:
Travis County Purchasing Office
ATTN: Cyd Grimes, CPM
700 Lavaca Street
Austin, TX 78701
Sealed bids will be accepted for a property until an acceptable bid is received. It is within the sole discretion of the Tax Assessor-Collector, on the advice of the Travis County Attorney's Office, to resolve any issues relative to a submitted bid. Decisions by the Tax Assessor-Collector are final and nonconforming bids will be returned to the bidder.
- Properly completed, sealed, marked and delivered bids are stamped with the date and time received by the Travis County Purchasing Agent.
- Sealed bids are opened on Mondays at 1:00 p.m. by a representative of the Travis County Purchasing Office. Bids are opened in public and read aloud.
- The highest acceptable bid received for a property will be recorded and processed for consideration by the Tax Assessor-Collector and the Travis County Commissioners Court.
Approval of Requests Under Consideration
- Bids under consideration are submitted at the earliest available County Commissioners Court meeting date.
- If approved by the County Commissioners Court, the sale is final. If disapproved, the property may be made available again for resale.
- The successful bidder will receive the deed to the property once all signatures have been received by the taxing jurisdictions. Sometimes, this may take longer than 6-8 weeks.
Contact the Travis County Attorney at (512) 854-9513 for questions about a submitted bid for a resale property or an accepted bid going before Commissioners Court.
The properties shown here represent all of the resale inventory available. Additions to the online showcase are made once each month after the first Tuesday of the month Tax Sale. If there are no properties struck off after the tax sale, there are no additions.
Summary of Properties Offered for Immediate Sale
Select a property to see more information about that property.
- Parcel / Account Number: a unique number used to research property information at the Travis County Tax Office and the Travis Central Appraisal District. The Billing Number may be used in lieu of the account number at Travis County Offices; it is not used at the Appraisal District.
- Linked Account Numbers: a single property may have different account numbers for different tax years. All account numbers linked to the same property must be considered in any bid. The total amounts due and minimum bids are cumulative.
- Property Type:a basic description of the property at the time it was struck off. Examples are vacant lot, single family residence, acreage, etc. Buyers are encouraged to research the property to verify its current status.
- Cause or Lawsuit Number: a unique reference number used to research lawsuit details in the Travis County District Clerk's office.
- Date of Judgment: the date the courts granted a foreclosure judgment.
- Last year on the tax roll: the year the property was "struck off" the tax roll. Current taxes for that year are prorated and no new taxes are levied until the property is resold and back on the tax roll. However, penalties and interest on prior year delinquencies continue to accrue.
- Appraised value for the above year: the value at the time the property was struck. Note that this value may be several years old; for more current value information you will need to do additional research. You may contact the Travis Central Appraisal District at www.traviscad.org or (512) 834-9138.
- First delinquent tax year: first year of unpaid taxes.
- Number of tax years delinquent: number of years with unpaid taxes: not all prior years may be delinquent.
- Minimum Acceptable Bid: In most cases, this IS the Minimum Acceptable Bid. On rare occasions a resale property may sell for less than the Minimum Acceptable Bid. For example, if the Minimum Acceptable Bid greatly exceeds the current value of the property, it is possible that a lower bid may be considered. Note: If the Minimum Acceptable Bid showing is "0" please contact the tax office at (512) 854 9473 for further information.
The tax office does not sell tax liens. Foreclosed property can be purchased by attending the monthly tax foreclosure sale.
A tax sale is an auction. The minimum bid advertised is the opening bid. Bidders can bid on the property in increments of $100. Property is sold to the highest bidder.
The minimum bid consists of tax, penalty & interest, attorney fees and court fees rendered under the judgment along with sale fees associated with advertising and selling the property. Unpaid delinquent tax years not included in the judgment are not part of the minimum bid and are shown as "Additional Taxes Due."
Payment is due at the time of sale. We accept cash, checks, cashier's checks, money orders, and credit cards. All credit card payments are subject to a 3% convenience fee.
If there are no bids, the property is struck off to Travis County as Trustee for all taxing jurisdictions and the property is offered for Resale.
Foreclosure notices that are not related to delinquent taxes are available from the Travis County Clerk.
It is common for prospective buyers to visit a property prior to the tax sale. The tax office is unable to provide information about the state of the property, its tenants or any animals that may be present. If you choose to enter the property, you do so at your own risk.