Did you move here from another state? Visit New to Texas.

Texas Resident Renewing Vehicle Registration

Address Change

Contact us to change your address or sign up for eReminder to receive your renewal notice by email.

Inspection

Travis County requires an emissions test as part of the state vehicle inspection program.

If you are renewing your registration, your first vehicle inspection in Travis County will automatically include the emissions test. You do not have to show proof of the test unless your vehicle has already been flagged by the state as non-compliant.

If you are transferring title, and you are coming from Brazoria, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, El Paso, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Johnson, Kaufman, Montgomery, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, or Williamson County, you do not have to show proof of the emissions test. If you are coming from any other county, bring your Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) from the inspection station.

Renewal Options

Online

Before you can renew online, contact us to change your address. Current and expired registration (up to 6 months) can be renewed with or without a renewal form in 7 - 10 business days.

Visit www.texas.gov with the following:
  • License plate number
  • Last 4 digits of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Credit card information.

Online renewals are issued for a full 12 months (including any portion of the month you've already used if renewing late.)

Additional Fees:
  • $1 mail-in fee (required fee collected by the county to offset mailing costs)
  • $2 electronic processing fee (collected by Texas.gov for online services)

Beginning March 1, 2015

A new state law requires you to Inspect to Register. When you go to www.Texas.gov to renew your vehicle registration, your inspection and emissions status is checked electronically. If there is an issue verifying your status, bring the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) to any Tax Office location for assistance.

Mail

When renewing by mail, please include your new Travis County address. Current and expired registration can be renewed by mail with or without a renewal form in 10 - 14 business days.

Enclose:
  • Renewal notice or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
  • Copy of your current proof of insurance. Do not mail original documents.
  • Check or money order payable to Bruce Elfant. Do not mail cash or credit card information.
Mail renewal to:

Travis County Tax Office
PO Box 149326
Austin, TX 78714-9326

Additional Fee:

$1 mail-in fee (required fee collected by the county to offset mailing costs).

Beginning March 1, 2015

A new state law requires you to Inspect to Register. When you renew your vehicle registration by mail, your inspection and emissions status is checked electronically. If there is an issue verifying your status, our office will return your renewal and request that you bring a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) to any Tax Office location for assistance.

Telephone

A member of our team can update your address and renew your vehicle registration. Current and expired registration can be renewed with or without a renewal form in 5 - 7 business days.

Call (512) 854-9473 with the following:
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or License Plate Number
  • Current proof of insurance (may be required to e-mail or fax)
Additional Fees:
  • $1 mail-in fee (required fee collected by the county to offset mailing costs)
  • $3 credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions $100 or less
  • 3% credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions more than $100

Beginning March 1, 2015

A new state law requires you to Inspect to Register. When you call to renew your vehicle registration, your inspection and emissions status is checked electronically. If there is an issue verifying your status, you will be asked to provide the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR).

In-Person

A member of our team can update your address and renew your vehicle registration. Current and expired registration can be renewed the same day with or without a renewal form.

Bring:
  • Renewal form, Vehicle Identification Number, or License Plate Number
  • Current proof of insurance
  • Valid photo ID
  • Cash, check, money order, or credit card
Sending a family member, relative, co-worker, employee or neighbor to renew for you? Bring:
  • Renewal form, Vehicle Identification Number, or License Plate Number
  • Completed Limited Power of Attorney to Register or Re-register a Motor Vehicle.
  • Current proof of insurance
  • Authorized agent's valid photo ID
  • For business vehicles only: employee ID, business card or authorized letter on letterhead that matches the business name on the motor vehicle record
  • Payment for registration fees
Additional Fees:
  • No additional fees if paying in person by cash, check, or money order
  • $3 credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions $100 or less
  • 3% credit card convenience fee (collected by Government Payments for credit card processing services) for transactions more than $100

Beginning March 1, 2015

A new state law requires you to Inspect to Register. When you come in person to renew your vehicle registration, your inspection and emissions status is checked electronically. If there is an issue verifying your status, you will be asked to provide the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR).

Locations

Grocery Stores and the City of Jonestown

If you are new to Travis County, you are not eligible to renew at a grocery store.

More about vehicle registration...

Voter registration becomes effective in the precinct of your new address 30 days after receipt of change of address or change of name notice. An updated voter registration certificate will be mailed within 30 days.

Register to Vote

By mail

Download a Voter Registration Application (Español). Print, sign, and mail the application to:

Travis County Voter Registration
PO Box 149327
Austin, Texas 78714-9327

Find a Postcard Application

More about voter registration...

Property Taxes

Address Change

Contact the Travis Central Appraisal District for ownership and address changes, exemption applications, and tax ceiling transfers.

Taxing Entities

 The Travis County Truth In Taxation Summary provides a full list of taxing entities and their rate history for the past five years.

Property Search

Search property tax records.

More about property taxes...

Vehicle Registration

I am new to Travis County. Can I still register my vehicle online?

Before you register your vehicle online, contact us to change your county of residence. Two business days after the county is updated in the record, renew online by selecting Travis County.

Voter Registration

I was registered to vote in my old county, but I didn't register again when I moved to Travis County. Can I vote?

When you move from one county to another, you must register to vote in your new county. Voters who do not register in time for the election may be eligible to vote using a Limited Ballot when:.

  • the voter was registered in their old county of residence.
  • the voter would have been eligible to vote in the county of former residence on election day if still residing in that county and a voter registration for the person in the county of new residence is not effective on or before Election Day.
  • the voter completes an application for limited ballot and votes only during the early voting period and only at the main early voting location at 5501 Airport Blvd., Austin, TX 78751.

Limited Ballot voters are entitled to vote on all statewide races and any district offices that are in common between the old and new counties. For more information and assistance, contact the Travis County Clerk Election Division at (512) 238-VOTE (8683).

Property Taxes

Where can I find information about Travis County tax rates?

The Travis County Truth In Taxation Summary provides a full list of taxing entities and their rate history for the past five years.