Texas Resident Stationed Out of Texas

Purchased a new or used vehicle and Texas is your home state of residence?

If you are active duty military stationed outside of Texas, check with the local jurisdiction to see if you are required to register and title the vehicle in that state.

Active duty military personnel who wish to register and title their vehicle in Texas must do so within 60 calendar days from the date of sale. Please refer to the required documents below.

Documents Required:
Fees

Sales Tax: 6.25% based on purchase price or Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) if applicable

Title Application Fee: $33.00

Annual Registration Fee: $64.25 for any vehicle 6,000 lbs or less

*Sales tax paid to a previous state will be credited. Texas will impose tax based on the difference.

Texas Resident Returning to Texas

Purchased a new or used vehicle while stationed outside of Texas?

Be sure to register your vehicle and pay taxes within 60 days of returning to Texas.

Documents Required:
Fees

Sales Tax: 6.25% based on purchase price or Standard Presumptive Value (SPV) if applicable

Title Application Fee: $33.00

Annual Registration Fee: $64.25 for any vehicle 6,000 lbs or less

*Sales tax paid to a previous state will be credited. Texas will impose tax based on the difference.

New to Texas

Visit New to Texas for more information on how to register your vehicle for the first time in Texas.

Military License Plates

Required Documents:

Disabled Veteran Parking

A person applying for Disabled Veteran (DV) plates may also get one placard for each set of DV plates issued. A vehicle displaying Disabled Veteran license plates can park in any disabled parking space except Federal property.

More about disabled veteran parking...

More about vehicle registration...

Military voters can use the regular voter registration and early voting by mail process or the Federal Postcard Application. To read more about military and overseas voting, visit the Travis County Clerk.

More about voter registration...

Military Exemptions

10% or More Disability Rating

Veterans who are 10% disabled or more qualify for a Disabled Veteran Exemption that can be applied to any property. The exemption can also be transferred to the surviving spouse.

Exemptions are administered by the Travis Central Appraisal District. Apply for your Disabled Veteran Exemption online for free.

100% or Unemployable Homestead

Veterans who are 100% disabled or are unemployable are exempt from paying property taxes. The exemption can also be transferred to the surviving spouse.

Exemption Qualifications:
  • Own a home and occupy it as your residence homestead
  • Receive 100% disability compensation from the US Department of Veterans Affairs for a service-connected disability
  • Have a disability rating of 100% or of individual unemployability
Surviving Spouse Qualifications:
  • The surviving spouse has not remarried
  • The property was the residence of the surviving spouse when the veteran died
  • The property remains the homestead of the surviving spouse

Exemptions are administered by the Travis Central Appraisal District. Apply for your 100% Disabled Veteran Homestead Exemption online for free. You will be asked to include proof of 100% disability or unemployability, as determined by the United States Department of Veteran's Affairs, to the Travis Central Appraisal District.

Active Duty Military Waiver of Penalty and Interest

A person on active military duty out of this state during a war or national emergency may defer payment of taxes until 60 days after the earliest of the following:

  • The date of discharge
  • The date the person returns to Texas for more than 10 days
  • The date of return to non-active duty status in the reserves
  • The date the war or national emergency ends

To apply for a deferral, submit the Military Request for Waiver of Penalty and Interest.

More about property taxes...

Vehicle Registration

Are any other documentation or fees required?

Some situations may require specific documentation and fees may vary depending on the particular situation. If you have any questions about specific transactions, please visit us at any of our office locations.

Locations