

Travis County Title Service License Program FAQ

State law requires counties with more than 500,000 residents to establish a Title Service Licensing program for all companies and their employees that submit or present motor vehicle documents. This is the only way to conduct motor vehicle title work/registration business in Travis County.

Title service business relates to the processing of motor vehicle title applications, motor vehicle registration renewal applications, motor vehicle mechanic's lien title applications, motor vehicle storage lien title applications, motor vehicle temporary registration permits, or notifications of storage and mechanic liens.

What is the purpose of the Title Service Licensing Program?

 This program allows the Travis County Tax Office to maintain a working knowledge of who we are doing business with on a regular basis, identifying companies and their employees per the <u>Texas Transportation</u> <u>Code, Sec. §520.051, Subchapter E Motor Vehicle Title Services</u> and the <u>Texas Administrative Code, Rule</u> <u>§425.1</u>.

Who is required to participate in the Title Service Licensing Program?

- Any person and/or company conducting business within Travis County, on behalf of someone not of direct relation, for a monetary fee or any other form of consideration, is required to obtain a Title Service License.
- Each title service company is required to apply for a company license, and each individual with ownership in the business, agent (document preparer) and runners who are *physically located in Travis County* for that company must apply for a Title Service Ancillary License.

How do you receive the appropriate license(s)?

- Complete the appropriate application (for title service business, owner, preparer and/or runner) and disclosures. Provide all necessary documents listed on each of the applications.
 - Copy of valid US government issued photo ID (no foreign passports)
 - Copy of Social Security card (provide USCIS or DHS documents as required)
 - Background check disclosures completed and signed
 - A photo of the building(s) where business is physically located (business name must be evident on outside of building) (title service owner application)
 - Articles of Incorporation listing all officers or Assumed Name Certificate (DBA) (title service owner application)
 - Proof of federal tax ID number (title service owner application)
 - Proof of state sales tax number (title service owner application)

- Statement on company letterhead listing all document preparers and runners must state that they are employees of the company and authorized to conduct business on behalf of company and be signed by owner or owner's designee with their title (title service owner application)
- Appropriate fees
- Your ability to process transactions is directly tied to license approval; incomplete applications will delay the approval process.
 - Background Check: failure to disclose criminal conviction on the application will result in title license denial; felonies and misdemeanors will be reviewed and considered within the last five years.
- The application package, along with required fees, can be hand-delivered or mailed to the Travis County Tax Office, Attn: Program Coordinator Motor Vehicles at 5501 Airport Blvd, Austin TX 78751.

What fees are required?

Start-Up Fees for 1st Year	License Holder Title Service	License Holder Owner/Preparer/Runner
Administrative Fee	\$300	\$120
One-Time Fee	\$50	\$50
Total Due	\$350	\$170

- Fees must be paid when the application package is submitted. Checks, Automated Clearing House (ACH) electronic transfers, and credit cards are acceptable forms of payment.
- Fees are non-refundable.
- A \$25 Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) fee will be assessed on all declined forms of payment.
 - NSF fees that are not paid will result in the termination of all licenses issued.

When does a license expire?

• A title service company's license expires one year from initial approval date. An ancillary license is valid up to the expiration date of the title service company. *The title service license must be renewed and valid prior to any ancillary license renewal*. A renewal notice will be sent to the title service business and any owner, document preparer and runner at least 30 days prior to expiration.

How do you renew a license?

• The license holder must submit a renewal application with all required documents and undergo a new background check. Appropriate fees must be paid at time of application submission.

Renewal Fees	License Holder Title Service	License Holder Owner/Preparer/Runner
Administrative Fee –license is not expired	\$300	\$150
Administrative Fee – license expired for 90 days or less	\$450	\$225
Administrative Fee – license expired more than 90 days but less than 1 year	\$600	\$300

If a license has been expired for more than a year, a new application must be submitted with all requested documentation. A background check will be conducted. <u>Upon approval, applicant will be issued a new license</u> <u>number</u>. Fees are due with the application submission; \$350 for title service; \$170 for each owner, runner and document preparer.

How will I know that my license has been approved or denied?

• Once the application review process is complete and a decision has been made, a letter and/or email will be sent to the applicant.

How long does it take to get a license approved?

Once a completed application and fees are received, the application review process will proceed with the background check. Typically, applicants are notified with a decision within ten business days either by mail, email, or phone.

What do you do after receiving approval?

- Once the application process is complete and approval is given, runners must come to the Travis County Tax Office to obtain a photo ID with an expiration date.
 - Schedule an appointment with the <u>Program Coordinator</u> to obtain the ID.

What do you do if your application is denied?

- A Notice of Intent to deny a license will be sent by certified mail to the address on your application.
- You have 20 calendar days from the date of the Notice of Intent to submit a written request for appeal.
 Include any evidence, in the form of documentation or sworn affidavit testimony that would
 - demonstrate the person's compliance with all applicable Texas statutes, agency regulations, and rules under the Texas Administrative Code, Rule §425.1.
- All appeals will be reviewed by the Tax Assessor-Collector's Review Board.
 - The Review Board's decision will be submitted to the Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector for final review and determination.
- Notice of the final decision will be sent to the applicant by certified mail to the address on your application or to an address specified in your request for appeal.

Questions?

Travis County Program Coordinator 512-854-8709 TravisTitleServices@raviscountytx.gov

Travis County Tax Office 2433 Ridgepoint Dr Austin TX 78751

3 | Page