
Photo ID Now Required for Voting in Person 
Exemptions are Available for Persons with Disabilities and Other Special Circumstances

 

Texas law now requires voters to show photo identification when 
voting in person. When voters appear at a polling location to vote, 
they must present an approved form of photo ID issued by the Texas 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) or the United States government. 
 

Approved Forms of Photo ID 
Except for the citizenship certificate, all IDs must be current or no more than 
60 days expired. 

 Texas Driver License issued by Texas DPS 

 Texas Election Identification Certificate (EIC) issued by DPS 

 Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS 

 Texas Concealed Handgun License issued by DPS 

 U.S. Military ID Card containing the person’s photograph 

 U.S. Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph 

 U.S. Passport 
 

Free Election Identification Certificates Available 
Individuals without an approved form of photo ID may apply for an 
Election Identification Certificate (EIC) at any Texas Driver License 
office. There is no charge for this certificate.  EICs for persons age 70 
and older do not expire; all other EICs expire every six years.  To 
receive this voter ID card, applicants must provide specific documents 
that prove their identity and citizenship. For more information call 
DPS at 512-424-2600 or visit their website at www.txdps.state.tx.us 
 

Name on Photo ID Must Match Name on the Voter Registration List 
Texas law requires poll workers to review the name on each voter’s 
photo ID to see if it exactly matches the list of registered voters. If the 
names are not exact, but are “substantially similar,” that person will 
be able to vote after initialing the sign-in sheet to affirm that he or 
she is the same person appearing on the voter registration list. 
 

Provisional Ballots for Those Without Proper ID at Polls 
A voter who does not have the required form of ID or does not have a 
“substantially similar” name match will be permitted to cast a 
provisional ballot. The voter must present proper identification to the 
County Voter Registrar within six calendar days of the election or the 
voter’s ballot will be rejected. 
 

Permanent Exemptions 
Voters with a disability and without an approved form of ID may 
apply with the County Voter Registrar for a permanent exemption. 
Documentation from the Social Security Administration showing a 
disability or from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs showing a 
disability rating of at least 50 percent will be required. A new voter 
registration certificate that reflects the exemption will be issued. 
 

Temporary Exemptions 
Voters who have a religious objection to being photographed or do 
not have a valid ID due to certain natural disasters as declared by the 
President or the Texas Governor, may cast a provisional ballot.  They 
must appear at the voter registrar’s office within six calendar days 
after Election Day and sign an affidavit for their ballots to be counted.  

No Photo ID Required 
When Voting by Mail  

*see below for exceptions 
 

You can vote by mail if you are a registered voter 
who is: 65 years of age or older; out of the county 
for the entire election period; sick or disabled; or 
confined in jail, but eligible to vote. 

 

To vote by mail, you must apply with the Travis 
County Clerk.  You can use the application on the 
Clerk’s website or provide the following 
information in writing to the Clerk’s office:  

• Your signature (or a witness’ signature if you 
cannot sign); 

• The address where you are registered to vote; 
• The address where the ballot is to be mailed; 
• The election year for which you are requesting 

a ballot; and if you want to vote in a primary 
election, the political party’s primary in which 
you wish to vote; and 

• A reason why you are eligible to vote early by 
mail.  Note: to be eligible to vote due to a 
planned absence from the county, your 
application must state an address out-of-
county to have your ballot mailed. 

 

The application or written request must be 
received no sooner than 60 days before election 
day and no later than 9 days before election day.  
(If the deadline falls on a weekend, the last day to submit an application or written 
request is the preceding Friday. If the deadline falls on a state or federal holiday, the 
ballot application must be received on the preceding business day.) 

 

The application can be sent by mail, fax, or common 
carrier (no emails).  We can accept an application in 
person if it is prior to the start of early voting. 

 

Different rules apply for military and overseas voters. 
For information contact the County Clerk. 

 

* A copy of an approved photo ID is required when 
you vote by mail if you are a first time voter and 
did not include ID information when you mailed in 
your voter registration form, or if the information 
provided could not be verified.  You will receive a 
notice with your ballot if ID is required. 
 
 

 

For More Information 
Dana DeBeauvoir, Travis County Clerk 
 PO Box 149325, Austin TX 78714-9325 
 5501 Airport Blvd., Austin TX 78751-1410 
 512-238-VOTE (8683)      Fax number: (512) 854-9075 
 www.traviscountyclerk.org 
 

Bruce Elfant, Travis County Tax Assessor-
Collector/Voter Registrar 

 PO Box 149327, Austin TX 78714-9327 
 5501 Airport Blvd., Austin TX 78751-1410 
 512-854-9473 

www.traviscountytax.org  

 
 
 
 

http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/
http://www.traviscountyclerk.org/
http://www.traviscountytax.org/


Ahora se requiere Identificación con Fotografía para Votar en Persona 
Hay Exenciones para Personas con Discapacidades y Otras Circunstancias Especiales   
 

 
La ley en Texas ahora requiere que votantes muestren identificación con fotografía 
cuando voten en persona. Votantes presentes para votar en las casillas electorales 
deberán presentar una forma de ID con foto emitida por el Departamento de 
Seguridad Pública de Texas (DPS) o por el gobierno Estadounidense.  Todas las ID 
(excepto certificados de ciudadanía) deberán ser actuales o no tener más de 60 días de 
haberse vencido. 

 

Tipos De Identificación Con Fotografía Aprobada 
Todas las ID (excepto certificados de ciudadanía) deberán ser actuales o no tener más de 60 días de haberse 
vencido. 

 Licencia de Texas para conducir vehículos emitida por el Departamento de 
Seguridad Pública de Texas (DPS, por sus siglas en inglés) 

 Certificado de Identificación Electoral de Texas (EIC) (Texas Election Identification 
Certificate) emitido por DPS 

 Tarjeta de Identificación Personal de Texas emitida por DPS 

 Licencia de Texas Para Pistola Oculta emitida por DPS 

 Tarjeta de Identificación Militar Estadounidense con fotografía  

 Certificado de Ciudadanía de los Estados Unidos con fotografía  

 Pasaporte Estadounidense 
 

Son Gratis los Certificados de Identificación Electoral  
Individuos sin algún tipo de ID con foto aprobada podrán solicitar su Certificado de 
Identificación Electoral (EIC) en cualquier oficina de Licencia de Texas para Conducir 
Vehículos (Texas Driver License Office). Este certificado es gratis.  Los certificados EIC 
para personas mayores de 70 años no se vencen; los otros EIC se vencen cada seis años.  
Para recibir esta tarjeta de ID de votante, solicitantes deberán proveer documentos 
particulares que comprueben su identidad y ciudadanía. Para más información, 
contacte a DPS llamando al (512) 424-2600, o visite su sitio Web en  
www.txdps.state.tx.us 
 

El Nombre en el ID con Foto Deberá Ser Igual que el Nombre en la Lista de Votantes 
Registrados  
La ley de Texas requiere que oficiales electorales repasen el nombre en cada ID con 
foto aprobada presentada por el votante para comprobar que es exactamente igual al 
nombre en la lista de votantes registrados. Si los nombres no son exactamente igual, 
pero son “sustancialmente similares,”  la persona podrá votar si escribe sus iniciales en 
la hoja de inscripciones afirmando que él o ella es la misma persona que aparece en la 
lista de votantes registrados.  
 

Boletas Provisionales en las Casillas para Personas sin ID Apropiada  
Un votante sin identificación (ID) requerida o cuyo nombre no sea “sustancialmente 
similar” será permitido votar con boleta provisional.  El votante deberá presentar 
identificación apropiada al Registrador de Votantes del Condado en plazo de seis días 
corridos después de la elección, o al contrario, su boleta será rechazada.  
 

Exenciones Permanentes   
Votantes discapacitados sin ninguna forma de ID aprobada podrán solicitar exención 
permanente al Registrador de Votantes del Condado. Se requiere documentación de la 
Administración de Seguridad Social (Social Security) comprobando la discapacidad del 
solicitante, o del Departamento de Asuntos de Veteranos de los Estados Unidos 
comprobando escala de discapacidad al menos de 50 por ciento.  Se le entregará un 
nuevo certificado de registro de votante indicando la exención.   
 

Exenciones Temporales  
Votantes que por su religión objetan a ser fotografiados o que no tienen ID valida con 
fotografía por algún desastre natural declarado por el Presidente o por el Gobernador 
de Texas, podrán votar con boleta provisional. Luego, deberán presentarse en la 
oficina del registrador de votantes dentro de seis días corridos después del Día de 
Elecciones, y firmar una constancia para que su boleta sea contada.  

No Se Requiere ID con Foto  
para Votar por Correo 

*Vea las excepciones abajo 
 

Puede votar por correo si es votante registrado y si: su 
edad es de 65 años o mayor; si está fuera del país 
durante todo el periodo electoral; si está enfermo o 
discapacitado; o está encarcelado, pero es elegible 
para votar.  
 

Para votar por correo, debe solicitar al Secretaria del 
Condado de Travis.  Puede usar la solicitud del sitio 
Web de la Secretaria o proveer la siguiente 
información escrita a la oficina de la Secretaria:  

 Su firma (o firma del testigo si usted no puede 

firmar);  

 Domicilio indicado en su registro de votante;   

 Domicilio a dónde enviarán su boleta;  

 Año electoral para cual usted está solicitando la 
boleta; y si usted quiere votar en la elección 
primaria, indicar la primaria del partido político en 
cual usted desea votar; y  

 Dar razón porqué usted es elegible para votar 
adelantado por correo.  Aviso: Para votar 
adelantado por correo porque usted planeó estar 
fuera del condado, su solicitud debe dar una 
dirección fuera del condado para que se le envíe 
su boleta.  

 

La solicitud o petición escrita deberá ser recibida 
en fecha que no sea antes de 60 días del día de 
elecciones, o sin más tardar de 9 días antes del 
día de elecciones.  (Si la fecha tope es  en fin de semana, el último 

día para someter solicitud o petición escrita es el viernes anterior.  Si la fecha 
tope es en día festivo estatal o federal, la solicitud de boleta deberá recibirse en 
el día hábil anterior.)  
 

La solicitud se envía por correo, fax, o portador 
ordinario (no emails). Se aceptan solicitudes en 
persona cuando son antes de principiarse la votación 
adelantada.  Diferentes reglas aplican para votantes 
militares y personas en el extranjero.  Para 
información contacte a la Secretaria del Condado.   
 

*Se requiere copia de ID con foto aprobada cuando 
vota por correo si es la primera vez que vota y si no 
incluyó información de ID cuando envió su forma de 
registración de votantes, o si no pudieron verificar su 
información.  Usted recibirá un aviso con su boleta si 
se requiere el ID.  
 
 
 
 

 Para Más Información  
 

Dana DeBeauvoir, Secretaria del Condado de Travis   
 PO Box 149325, Austin TX 78714-9325 
 5501 Airport Blvd., Austin TX 78751-1410 
 512-238-VOTE (8683)   
 Número de Fax: (512) 854-9075 
 www.traviscountyclerk.org 
Bruce Elfant, Asesor-Recaudador de Impuestos/ 
Registrador de Votantes del Condado de Travis  
 PO Box 149327, Austin TX 78714-9327 
 5501 Airport Blvd., Austin TX 78751-1410 
 512-854-9473 

www.traviscountytax.org  
   

 
 

http://www.txdps.state.tx./
http://www.traviscountyclerk.org/
http://www.traviscountytax.org/

