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The New Texas Two-Step 

Vehicle registration & inspection stickers partnering up in Travis County 

 

Austin, TX – Travis County is gearing up for a new Texas Two-Step. 

Beginning March 1, 2015, a new state law will eliminate vehicle inspection stickers under a new “Two 

Steps, One Sticker” program. Under the new system, Texas vehicle owners will need to “Inspect to 

Register” by passing inspection and emissions testing in Travis County before they can renew or 

register their vehicles. 

The familiar blue-bordered Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) registration sticker will serve 

as proof of both inspection and registration. That means Texans will only need one sticker on their 

windshields. 

“The Travis County Tax Office is prepared to make this transition as smooth as possible for our 
residents,” said Bruce Elfant, the county tax assessor-collector. It will take two years before all Travis 
County residents have their inspections aligned to the vehicle sticker expiration date, he added. 

What you need to know: 

 If your registration and inspection stickers currently expire in the same month of 2015, you will 
need an inspection and emissions test before you can renew. For you, everything proceeds as 
normal except you have to remember the correct order: Inspect to Register. 

 If your registration and inspection stickers expire in different months, you must make sure you 
have a current inspection to renew your vehicle registration in 2015. To sync the dates, your 
inspection remains valid, or is extended, until your registration sticker expires in 2016. This 
aligns your inspection or “syncs” the date to your sticker expiration date. 

 Once you are synced you can renew your inspection within 90-days of the registration sticker 
expiration date. Your inspection results are electronically recorded in a Texas Department of 
Public Safety database and checked when you go to renew your registration. Without a passing 
inspection, the vehicle will not be eligible for registration renewal. 



 
 
 

The Travis County Tax Office annually collects more than $3 billion in local property taxes for 117 local government entities and $4 
million in fines and fees for Justice of the Peace and County Courts at Law. The office registers and titles almost 1 million vehicles, 
registers over 600,000 voters,  and supports elections for 201 local government entities. The Tax Office operates five locations in Travis 
County and many services are available online. 

You can watch a Travis County public service announcement about the program at 
http://youtu.be/8aPLZ3XtQ30.   

 “When the ‘Two Steps, One Sticker’ program is fully implemented, Travis County residents will 
appreciate having just one sticker in the corner of their windshield and only one expiration date to worry 
about,” said TxDMV Executive Director Whitney Brewster. “And because a passing vehicle inspection 
will be a requirement to renew your registration, more vehicle owners will comply with inspection 
requirements leading to safer and more environmentally sound cars on Texas roads.”  

The program is a joint effort by the TxDMV, Texas Department of Public Safety and Texas Commission 

on Environmental Quality. 

For more information:  

www.TwoStepsOneSticker.com or www.TravisCountyTax.org 

### 

 

ATTN MEDIA: Tax Assessor-Collector Bruce Elfant is available for in-studio, office or telephone 

interviews on the new single sticker program. 

 

PHOTO CAPTION: It won’t be long before a state inspection station scrapes off your vehicle’s 

inspection sticker for the last time. A new state law will align your inspection and registration expiration 

dates, leaving you with one sticker to represent both. 

 

HEADSHOT: Bruce Elfant, Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector 
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