

Travis County Title Licensing Program Fact Sheet

<u>Governing Statute:</u> Transportation Code, Chapter 520, Subchapter E, Motor Vehicle Title Services

<u>Participation Requirement:</u> Texas tax offices in counties with more than 500,000 residents must establish a title licensing program for all companies and their employees that submit or present motor vehicle documents.

<u>Title Service Business</u>: Business relates to the processing of motor vehicle title applications, motor vehicle registration renewal applications, motor vehicle mechanic's lien title applications, motor vehicle storage lien title applications, motor vehicle temporary registration permits, motor vehicle title application transfers occasioned by the death of the title holder, or notifications under Chapter 683 of the Texas Transportation Code or Chapter 70 of the Texas Property Code.

Required Applicants: There are two categories of licenses: the Motor Vehicle Title Service License and the Title Service Runner License.

Runner Identification: Each runner will be provided an identification badge upon approval. Runners will be required to show their identification when submitting transactions for processing.

<u>Application Submission:</u> All applications must be submitted to the MAIN TAX OFFICE location, 5501 Airport Boulevard, Austin TX 78751-1410.

Applications: Applications are available online for printing in PDF format.

<u>Fees:</u> Program fees cover administration and background check

<u>Background Check:</u> Failure to disclose criminal conviction on application will result in title license denial. Felonies and misdemeanors will be reviewed and considered within the last 5 years.

	License Holder – Title Service	License Holder - Runner
Annual Administration Fee	\$300.00	\$120.00
Initial Administration Fee (one-time fee if kept current)	\$50.00	\$50.00
Total Due	\$350.00	\$170.00

<u>Payment Options:</u> Check, ACH or credit card in the business name - Fees Are Not Refundable. (\$25 Non-sufficient funds fee for all payments)

Effective Date: FEBRUARY 14, 2019

Contact: Tax Office Program Coordinator • (512) 854-8709 • TravisTitleServices@traviscountytx.gov