OUT OF STATE DEALERS:

How to title & register a vehicle in Texas

As an out-of-state dealer, we're sure you noticed Texans think their state is mighty fine. They
are proud of it and want their vehicle titled and registered in Texas.

We want to thank y’all for taking the time to help our fellow Texans. They are our neighbors and
friends, and we want to help you properly title and register their vehicles in Texas.

NOTE: Texas law requires the titling and registration application occur within 30 days of the
customer’s purchase. This includes making sure the information you mail is in our office within
30 days of the vehicle purchase. The state assesses financial penalties that begin on the 31%
day after purchase.

Here’'s what you need:

* Vehicle Title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of
Origin (MCO).

* Application for Texas Title and/or
Registration (Form 130-U) available at

TxDMV.gov.
Vehicle Title
Form 130-U
* Application for Vehicle Identification Number
Certification (Form VTR-270) available at
TxDMV.gov.
Form VTR-270
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* Sale receipt itemizing how much the buyer
paid for the vehicle and sales tax, if any.

* Any Powers of Attorney, Repossession
Affidavits, Release of Liens, etc. (Find the
Texas forms here.)

* The buyer's government-issued, photo
identification (driver’s license, passport,
military D).

Power of Attorney form

Driver's License

* The buyer’s insurance card (showing it meets the Texas minimums of $30,000 personal
injury, $60,000 personal injury per accident and $25,000 in property liability). Note: We
do not accept no-fault insurance.

* If it is a commercial vehicle in excess of 10,000 pounds, you need a certified weight slip
to determine vehicle’'s empty weight.

Here’'s what you do:

1. You, as the dealer’s agent, and your customer, the buyer, must complete the title's
assignment section, including the required seller and buyer information, date of sale,
signatures and odometer reading. If you are providing a Manufacturer’s Certificate of
Origin (MCO), you also must include an odometer statement signed and dated by you
and the vehicle buyer.

2. Make a copy of the buyer’'s government-issued, photo identification. (Valid driver’s
license, passport or military ID.) Go to TxDMV.gov for a complete list of acceptable
identification.

3. Make a copy of the buyer’s insurance card.

4. Make sure the buyer fills out the Vehicle Identification Certification (Form VTR-270).
When the vehicle is out of state, it is not subject to the Texas Vehicle Safety Inspection
law, providing the Form VTR-270 is submitted with the purchaser’s paperwork. (Dealers
make sure you remind Texas buyers they only have three days from the time the vehicle
enters Texas to have the Vehicle Safety Inspection done at a state inspection station.)
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5. Purchase receipt showing the amount of sales taxes paid (if you collected sales tax). If
your state charges below the Texas sales tax amount of 6.25 percent, then the buyer will
owe Texas the difference between what the buyer paid in your state and our state’s
sales tax rate. If you did not charge sales tax, the buyer owes Texas the 6.25 percent on
the purchase price. This applies to new and used vehicles.

6. Form 130-U. This form is critical to the title and registration process in Texas and you
and the buyer MUST FILL IT OUT COMPLETELY and SIGN and DATE IT. If the
vehicle includes co-owners, then they must also sign and date the form. Failure to
complete the 130-U will result in rejection of a Texas title and registration. NOTE: Make
sure you include any rebates and trade-in amounts and pay special attention to checking
the right box on the form for the transaction type, such as: title only, title and registration,
RPO or non-title registration.

7. Any Power of Attorney, Release of Lien, Repossession Affidavit, etc. must be included in
the application package.

8. Include the certified weight slip for a commercial vehicle in excess of 10,000 pounds that
shows the vehicle’s empty weight. (Only applies to commercial vehicle purchases.)

9. Use the Dealers — Texas Fees document to calculate how much money you will submit
with the application.

Mail the application package and proper fees to:
Travis County Tax Office
P.O. Box 149326
Austin, TX 78714-9326

Note: If you would like a copy of the completed paperwork, enclose a note and return label from
your dealership.

Permits, Stickers & License Plates

* You must provide the buyer with a temporary permit from your state. The only way your
customer can receive a Texas 30-day temporary permit is by coming into the Travis
County Tax Office and paying cash. We do not accept credit cards, electronic checks,
bank drafts or personal checks to purchase a temporary permit.

* We mail the Texas license plates and vehicle registration sticker to the customer’s
residence and send you, the dealer, a duplicate receipt. However, if you want the license
plates and registration sticker sent to the dealership, include this request in your
submitted paperwork packet along with a return mailing label from your dealership.

Contact: Email us at TaxOffice@TravisCountyTX.govV if you need additional assistance.
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